GUFFGAAF EPISODE 1: PLAGIARISM IN THE CONTEXT OF NEPAL

I have teamed up with Bikash Gupta, author of the blog “By the Sidewalk,” to create GuffGaaf. It is a platform where we talk about various subtle issues and share our thoughts. We are hopeful that you will listen to our podcast and enjoy our presentation. We have done our best to share insights in the concerned issues. To be effective in our next episode, we strongly urge you to comment various aspects of the podcast so that we can deliver more terrific ones in the future.

Right now, we are in a starting phase and since we wanted to check how the response would be, we decided to use Nepali language as the medium of communication. For those who are not familiar with Nepali language, downloading the podcast would not make any sense and we are sorry for the inconvenience that this will cause you. However, you can be hopeful that we will be able to deliver future episodes in English.

The two presenters: Bikash Gupta (left) and Manasbi Parajuli (me).

The two presenters: Bikash Gupta (left) and Manasbi Parajuli (me).

For those familiar with Nepali language, you need to download the file in order to listen to our first podcast. I will only be able to link the file since embedding such files are not allowed in the free version of WordPress. Maybe someday I will be able to upgrade to a premium plan and then you can easily listen to the podcasts. I hope that you will appreciate our efforts by downloading the file. We apologize for this issue.

In the first podcast, we discuss about our experiences plagiarizing our projects, essays, poems when we were assigned these works in our school. We also talk about some flaws in our education system that does not penalize the students but appreciate the time they took to google pertinent information. At the end of the podcast, we share some ways that plagiarism can be controlled in the context of Nepal.

Please listen to our talk and provide your valuable feedback.

Link to the podcast: Guffgaaf Episode 1

Please click in the link to download and enjoy!

2 comments

  1. Plagiarism, is a serious issue, which harms our creativity. I did a lot of plagiarism in my high school. It is good to see US education system going completely against it. So being a student who love to do plagiarism how can I improve my writing without doing plagiarism as in order to apt in the US education system?

    1. Well, the foremost thing is that you should never plagiarize. It is not considered ethical.
      In order to avoid plagiarism, you need to cite sources using various citation styles. It depends on the course that you are required to write an assignment. I have established the habit of crediting the authors in my work. If I fail to do that, I will be going against the academic integrity policy of my college/university and get expelled! I surely would cite anything that is not my idea (whether it is an exact phrase or paraphrased) and not get deported to my country simply because I continued to plagiarize.
      In terms of improving your writing, you have to write a lot and in a daily basis! To do this, you need to read more books. It all comes down to committing yourself to following a writing routine. Trust me, write an hour for two or three days in a row and then it will become a habit. Or you can start writing your own blog. The main point is that you write and read in a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

