USURPED BY LEGACY

Nothing has fascinated me more than the desire to leave a legacy in every work that I do. That is why I long to master perfection by carving my abilities to their full potential.
Whenever we study a successful figure, we do not revel at the developments he did but are inspired at the way he let the world dance along to his beats. It is not the money he earns or his products that so much impacts the way we perceive the world but due to the very way that he led us believe that such a thing was even possible in the first place. And that is what I have been closely scrutinizing whenever I hear about people, famous or not, shaping the world in surprising ways. The very attitude to leave a legacy in every work they do, however small it may be, grabs my attention and pushes me to unchartered territories.
I am not certain of my career fifteen years from now but I have pledged to leave a legacy for others to follow from whatever work I find appealing. Because small or not, my work may inspire a small group and as inspiration is exponentially powerful, it slowly dissipates the legacy that I have created.

images
I have no intention of blabbering whatever comes into my mind but when I self-analyze my surroundings, I feel that most of us live our lives for granted. At the same time, talk about legacy may seem too ambitious but I can’t deny the fact that creating a legacy in itself is very inspiring and pushes you to achieve more. In other words, it lets you to be in charge and compels others to learn from your lives. After all, we all learn something from whomever we meet in our lives.
Legacy is all about polishing what you do and spread the good in a contagious way. Thomas Alva Edison’s legacy was to try on and on no matter the amount of failures that we experience. Steve Jobs taught us to think ‘out of the box’ and strive towards excelling at creativity. Many other people that I have come across have taught me something significant. I learn from them and grow. Or when I see people involved in their quotidian acts, I revere the legacy, charming or not, that they are creating for the passersby.
I feel that I am blinded by leaving a legacy for others to follow. I have no control over the future but I can begin to realize my faith. After all, when I die, I want to be remembered for the legacy that I left behind and not for the countless other stories surrounding my life. Because legacy is what immortalizes me whatever the backgrounds I present to the world. My name will be forgotten but I wish to live on through my legacies.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

